The Mirror Image Of Myself

Mind My Own Language

Posted in Life Stories by zenmaster on July 1, 2006

I wish I could learn extra languages. Learn another Chinese dialects? I couldn’t be bothered. I rather learn by language family, for instance Latin, Germanic, Sino, Semitic and stuff. The languages that I would like to learn are Cantonese, Spanish and German.

The only Chinese dialect language that I can speak is Mandarin. Like any typical jook sing, I only can speak and understand (sort of), but cannot write the script. Great, I think I need to run for cover just in case the purist wants to flame me. Whenever I speak Mandarin to salesman, taxi driver or restaurant owner, they will ask me “Are you from Singapore or China?”. I think I need to learn Cantonese so that I will not labelled as foreigner from China and Singapore, just to be safe. Besides, Cantonese is the most spoken Chinese dialect in Chinese diaspora. If you’re visiting Chinatown overseas, expect them to talk to you in Cantonese.

Next language, Spanish. There’s so much telenovela and Latin songs lately. I’m not a big fan of telenovela or spanish music. In fact, Spanish is the 2nd most widely spoken language in America, or the world. Maybe it has a potential to be a de facto language in US of A replacing English. To be honest, I have no reason to learn Spanish. To follow the crowd? Because it’s based on endangered Latin? Because it’s trendy like Kaballah? Maybe.

Here’s my favourite one, German. I’m longing to learn German one fine day. Speaking in German makes me feel like a I’m a techie person. Most of the technical contents on the Internet are written in German. On Wikipedia (and its affiliates), German has 2nd most submitted contents. According to linguist, German is the easiest language to learn for the Anglophones, or English speaker. Reason is, English is actually a Germanic language, so you will find some of the words in English are similar with German. Mmmmm, I’m out of idea already.

Considering that I’m a lower middle class person, I’m not afford to learn it at language center. Nevertheless, there’s always the Internet and you-know-what-I-mean.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hankerchizf said, on July 1, 2006 at 1:11 pm

    Hey, i have got a 400 pages of german languange ebook in my pc.
    If you want it, send an email to songhan89@hotmail.com

  2. Name Withheld said, on July 1, 2006 at 6:02 pm

    Thanks a bunch. Call me nitpicking, but I prefer an audiobook. Oh, well. I’ll email you later.


Leave a Reply

