The Mirror Image Of Myself

Quit O/Cing Already

Posted in Life Stories by zenmaster on August 18, 2006

Those were the days when I first owned a Celeron Coppermine and Athlon XP Palomino. Now I own Thoroughbread-B, so I can push the FSB to the fullest. Graphics card is also never missed from constant tweaking and abuse. I softmod to become Quaddro using RivaTuner and some files. I’m also pushing memory and core speed to the max and then test it on benchmark program like 3DMark. It was fun. I had mixed feeling about this. Regret because wallet’s empty due to constant upgrades. Satisfied because I’ve owned the most powerful desktop PC (yeah, I’m so vain).

My PC life comes to and end when my el cheapo PSU exploded. Nevermind, thing could be worse. I checked the motherboard and I found out that the capacitor near the MOSFET was leaking and it smells like one kind. Bugger. That’s why I use truepower PSU like Enlight and Powerlogic just to be on the safe side. No more el cheapo PSU. Lesson learned. No more frustrating diagnosis and constant dosage of paracetamol and nicotine.

That’s the end of my overclocking life. I’ll use my current system (Thoroughbread B) until I’ve graduated from APIIT. After that, I’ll use a AMD Sempron64 with micro ATX motherboard with low-end graphics and that’s it. No more upgrades for high end stuff. I couldn’t be bothered about the performence anymore.

I’ll buy a laptop based on AMD Turion X2 when I secure a decent job. Compaq Presario is one of them. With the price of RM2999, it’s very affordable considering there’s a dual core processor and GeForce Go blablablablabla. Nevertheless, no Microsoft Windows installed on the laptop and it’s replaced by FreeDOS. It’s okay as I can install Ubuntu and its variants. It’s also has a decent Integrated Graphics Processor (IGP), GeForce Go 6150. Not as powerful as Radeon X1400 or equavalent, at least it can play games at lower settings if you don’t care about eye candy.

Leave a Reply

