The Mirror Image Of Myself

Pearl Jam – Wishlist

Posted in Entertainment, Poetry, Videos by zenmaster on July 17, 2007

Remember the quote “I wish I was as fortunate as fortunate as me”? Yeah, indeed, I’ve promised to you earlier that I’ll blog about this. And now, I’m going to write about it, specifically about my favourite Pearl Jam’s song. Wishlist is one of my Pearl Jam’s Big 5 (Alive, Jeremy, Betterman, Rearviewmirror, Wishlist). Unlike the other Big 5, this song is slow and relaxing, yet moving. I call it the semangat song. Likewise, you may call it a love song, lullaby, pop song, easy listening, slow rock whatsoever.

Interestingly, many listeners acknowledge that Wishlist is arguably the most easy Pearl Jam song to play, even the beginner can play it in a jiffy. As a guitar noob, I have to agree with them. There’s only 3 chords involved F, G and C (both open and power chords). Of course, there’s guitar licks and solos, but only simple ones. So, you’ll save your fingers from getting blistered. Electric guitar and ebow are optional because of the 2nd (volume swelling) and 3rd (sustain) solo. Wishlist is fun to be played on acoustic guitar, too. Click the following links for, bass tab and guitar tab.

The best part of this song is the lyrics itself. It’s very simple yet it’s poetic and full of meaning. According to the Eddie Vedder (Pearl Jam’s frontman), he made a wishlist as a reminder for him to fulfilled his desired dream. At the end of the day, he resolved it with the line I wish I was as fortunate as fortunate as me as a sign that he contended with his dream already. God, I even modify the lyrics into my own “wishlist” occasionally. I will write my own poem based on the Wishlist lyrics itself.

I wish I was a neutron bomb for once I could go off,
I wish I was a sacrifice but somehow still lived on,
I wish I was a sentimental ornament you hung on,
The Christmas tree I wish I was the star that went on top,
I wish I was the evidence I wish I was the grounds,
For 50 million hands upraised and open toward the sky.

I wish I was a sailor with someone who waited for me,
I wish I was as fortunate as fortunate as me,
I wish I was a messenger and all the news was good,
I wish I was the full moon shining off a Camaro’s hood.

I wish I was an alien at home behind the sun,
I wish I was the souvenir you kept your house key on,
I wish I was the pedal brake that you depended on,
I wish I was the verb ‘to trust’ and never let you down.

I wish I was a radio song, the one that you turned up,
I wish, I wish, I wish, I wish……..**

** The lyrics might be altered by Eddie from time to time, depending on the location of the concert.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. jam said, on July 18, 2007 at 10:49 am

    Nice song indeed!

    Zen: Seconded 😉

  2. ramblingjenn said, on July 18, 2007 at 3:16 pm

    is pearl jam still around? i thought they went away long time ago
    Rambling Jenn

    Zen: Yes, there are still around, but in low profile way.

  3. daughter said, on July 30, 2007 at 6:44 am

    this song is truly one of their greatest songs! love it.. 🙂
    have you ever seen them?

    Zen: Seconded. And no, I haven’t seen them live in concert yet. I wish I can book a flight ticket to Seattle and see them live. Listening the bootlegs is not enough. No feel at all.

  4. jasonphoon said, on July 30, 2007 at 10:52 pm

    This is one of my favorite pearl jam songs too ..

    Yield was the first pearl jam album i got, and I thought it was pretty solid. Led me to discover their older stuff too.

    Zen: I digged Ten and Vitalogy from my elder brother’s CD collection and voila! I started to love the band already.


Leave a Reply

